Dominic Giovanni

It feels like it’s been ages, hasn’t it. :)

DomGio

We welcomed a new baby in our family on Friday.

I was so preoccupied with this all week. My best friend of twenty-three years (my whole life) gave birth to him on Friday morning. He is 19.5 inches tall. He weighs 7.5 pounds. He has gray eyes for now. We’re hoping they stay gray, since this is the last chance for the recessive trait she may carry to be passed. Dominic’s two sisters were so excited to welcome him into the world.

I took both of the children to the cafeteria Friday afternoon, for a snack. Anala, the four-year-old, stopped everyone along the way, explaining to them that she had just met her brother. She told them his name. They repeated it back, and congratulated her. Her mother worries about her talking to strangers too often, but I think it’s endearing the way she’s so outgoing.

I carefully stitched a baby blanket for him. It took me a couple of months to finish it, but it was ready when he arrived. :)

My mom came to see the baby. Now she’s nagging at me to have a child. Sorry, mom. I think my mom is really heartbroken that I’m moving to Japan right out of college, and that she won’t have grandbabies from me anytime soon.

Today, Dominic was brought home. He is healthy, and actually enjoyed the bumpy car ride.

By the way, his grandfather on his father’s side is Mexican. So he’s 1/4 Mexican, and born on Cinco de Mayo. Pretty cool, huh?

This was my favorite photo taken. :) Ricca looks so happy, and so does her baby boy!DomGio1

2 thoughts on “Dominic Giovanni

    • It is amazing. I look at him, and can hardly believe that a living, breathing, gorgeous life had come out of her. It’s a miracle the way that works. An absolute miracle. I can’t even describe how I feel about this. I’m actually fearing that I will favor him over his sisters, since I never got to see them as newborns.

Leave a Reply

